Here are some of the frequently asked questions about Diana Gabaldon's story collection, SEVEN STONES TO STAND OR FALL. (Last updated July 26, 2022)


SEVEN STONES TO STAND OR FALL is a collection of seven stories by Diana Gabaldon that was published in the US and Canada on June 27, 2017. Five of these stories have been previously published in anthologies or as standalone e-books, but two of the stories are brand new.

Diana Gabaldon described it as "a collection of novellas and short stories, all of which deal with people from the Outlander universe."

2) Which stories are included in this collection?

The brief descriptions below were written by Diana Gabaldon.

"The Custom of the Army" (originally published in 2010)
Lord John – electric eels and the Battle of Quebec.
"A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows" (originally published in 2010)
The story of Roger MacKenzie’s parents in WWII. This one will make you cry.
"A Plague of Zombies" (originally published in 2011)
Lord John ends up unexpectedly as the military governor of Jamaica when the original governor is gnawed by what probably wasn’t a giant rat.
"The Space Between" (originally published in 2012)
In which the Comte St. Germain is not dead after all, and a widowed young wine dealer ends up escorting a would-be novice to a convent in Paris. Oh, yes, and Master Raymond’s in it, too.
"Virgins" (originally published in 2013)
In which Jamie Fraser, aged 19 and Ian Murray, aged 20, become mercenaries in France, despite the fact that neither has yet bedded a lass nor killed a man. But they’re trying...
"A Fugitive Green" (NEW STORY!)
The story of Hal Grey (Lord John’s elder brother) and his not-yet-wife, Minerva, a 17-year-old dealer in rare books, theft, forgery and blackmail. This one is brand-new, and the longest of the batch, at 50,000 words. Pretty much a short novel by itself.
"Besieged" (NEW STORY!)
Lord John is informed that his mother is in Havana. This would be fine, save that the British Navy is on its way to lay siege to the city. Also never before published.
3) Where can I find this book?

SEVEN STONES TO STAND OR FALL is available in hardcover and e-book format. You can order from Amazon or Barnes & Noble.

The trade paperback (large size paperback) was published in the US on August 7, 2018.

4) I live outside the US. How can I get a copy of this book?
The UK edition of SEVEN STONES TO STAND OR FALL (pictured above) is available here.

5) What does the title mean?

I asked Diana that question on Compuserve in November 2016, and here is part of her response:
I wanted a title that at least suggested that there were a number of elements in this book (hence the "Seven") and "Seven Stones" just came naturally, and was nice, ("stone" is always a weighty word <g>) but not a complete poetic thought (or rhythm).

[The] "stand or fall" has to do with people's response to grief and adversity:  to wit, if you aren't killed outright by whatever happened, you have a choice in how the rest of your life is lived--you keep standing, though battered and worn by time and elements, still a buttress and a signpost....or you fall and return quietly to the earth from which you sprang, your elements giving succor to those who come after you.

6) How can I get an autographed copy of this book?

You can order an autographed copy of SEVEN STONES TO STAND OR FALL from the Poisoned Pen bookstore in Arizona. This is Diana Gabaldon's local independent bookstore, and they ship all over the world.

7) I already have some of these stories in print and/or e-book format. Why are they being re-published now?

The answer to that question is complicated, and I would really encourage you to read through Diana Gabaldon's detailed explanation, posted on Facebook on January 27, 2017.

8) Are the two new stories, "A Fugitive Green" and "Besieged", available as standalone e-books?

The standalone e-book edition of "A Fugitive Green" was released on July 26, 2022. Look here for details. We have no information yet about the standalone e-book edition of "Besieged", but it should be coming later in 2022.

9) What about audio versions?

The audio version of SEVEN STONES TO STAND OR FALL, containing all seven stories, is available at

Individual audiobooks of each of the stories in this collection are also available for download via

A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows
The Custom of the Army
A Plague of Zombies
The Space Between
A Fugitive Green


Mary Tormey said...

Hi Karen am looking forward to reading this until the new Outlander book comes out , please post more soon. Sincerley.

Mary Tormey said...

Hi Karen this will be very exciting to read both new and older stories from Diana this year and just put in my pre-order , am looking forward to reading this during the summer of 2017, please post more , love your Blog, sincerely.

Unknown said...

Is there any difference between the US version and the UK version, aside from the cover art?

Karen Henry said...

Val - Diana says no, only the covers are different.

Unknown said...

Hi, Is there a known reason the Audio book is only available in the US? Or at least it's not available from Australia, without having a US bank account, from Audible. I've already bought the book here I just want the audiobook for driving.

kesterGayle said...

This is a spoilerish question, so if you've not read Plague of Zombies or the story about Cuba, beware!

In both stories Lord John says he's not married, and in the second story his mother mentions him never having married. But both stories take place after his appointment as Governor of Jamaica, at which point he IS married according to the Big Books. Has Gabaldon explained this discrepancy? I'm not one of her Professional Nit-Pickers, but this is kind of a big deal, in my opinion. Anyone have any info on this?


Tracy said...

I have not read the Cuba story yet, but Plague of Zombies is BEFORE John is appointed governor. It sets the stage for why he was appointed, as he already had some experience of the region.

From Gabaldon’s website:
“A Plague of Zombies” (novella)— Set in 1761, in Jamaica, when Lord John is sent in command of a battalion to put down a slave rebellion and discovers a hitherto unsuspected affinity for snakes, cockroaches, and zombies.

So it was set in 1761. Voyager starts in 1766, and it is in that book that John becomes governor.

Anonymous said...

Is Paul Rakoczy that’s mentioned in A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows the same time traveler Rakoczy in The Space Between.
Jan H.

Gabriel Machado said...

I'm wondering why the novellas were displayed in that order, differently from the order Diana explained right before at the Introduction.

She wrote: "the detailed listing here shows the sequence of the various elements in terms of the story line". The order is: Virgins, A Fugitive Green, The Custom of the Army, A Plague of Zombies, A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows, The Space Between, Besieged.

However, in the book, the order is this: The Custom of the Army, The Space Between, A Plague of Zombies, A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows, Virgins, A Fugitive Green, Besieged.

Why? I understand the reason to put the unpublished novellas at the end, but the others aren't displayed in story line order neither in publication order... I think sory line order would be more convenient for the readers.

Could someone explain me?

Powered by Blogger.